Awakening: Stories from the Torres Strait

"Awakening" seeks to reconnect the spirit between people and their objects.

The Torres Strait Islands

Cultural Advice: Visitors should be aware that the exhibition and website may include names, images and voices of deceased people that may cause sadness or distress to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. It is our intention to tell these stories and use imagery with good faith and with respect.

"In Torres Strait you are surrounded by the sea. The water becomes your highways, the sky becomes your compass and your knowledge of the rules of the land, sea and sky influence the way you live your life."

Imelda Miller, ‘Awakening’ co-curator, 2011

The Torres Strait lies between the tip of Cape York and the border of Papua New Guinea. It encompasses more than 270 islands scattered over 48,000 square kilometres.

The islands are divided into five main areas. These geographical divisions are also used to describe major social groups and cultural differences.

Two Torres Strait communities are situated on the tip of Cape York Peninsula: Bamaga and Seisia, and there are also communities on the mainland at Cairns and Townsville. Only 17 of the 270 islands in the Torres Strait are inhabited.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Museum information: